Chakra Balancing


Chakras are measurable patterns of electromagnetic activity constantly receiving, assimilating and transmitting life-force energy (also known as "ki", "chi" or "prana") within the body. They are whirling concentrated energy centers located deep within the center of the physical body next to a hormonal gland along the spinal column. Chakras are the openings for life energy to flow in and out of our auras through this connection to the spinal cord, autonomic nervous system and endocrine system. There are seven major chakras each situated over an endocrine gland. The endocrine system controls our hormones, which in turn greatly effects our moods and emotions. Through balancing these chakras their function is to energise the physical body, glands, organs, bloodstream and nervous system to reach optimum health and well-being.

The Seven Chakras

There are hundreds of chakras in and around the body but most therapists concentrate on the seven major ones. Each of these seven chakras has it's own colour, endocrine gland and function.

The Root Chakra:

root chakra

Associated colour: Red.
Endocrine gland: Adrenals.
Location: Base of the spine and lower pelvic area.
Function: Governs survival, security and physical needs.
Imbalances: May manifest as bone or reproductive problems, low self-esteem or having difficulty in reaching goals.
Associated crystals: Hematite, Bloodstone or Tiger's Eye.

The Sacral Chakra:

sacral chakra

Associated colour: Orange.
Endocrine gland: Ovaries/Gonads.
Location: Pelvic area.
Function: Governs sexuality, emotions, desires and creativity.
Imbalances: May manifest in sexual issues.
Associated crystals: Citrine, Carnelian and Golden Topaz.

The Solar Plexus Chakra:

solar plexus chakra

Associated colour: Yellow.
Endocrine gland: Pancreas.
Location: Upper abdomen below the breastbone.
Function: Governs intellect and personal power.
Imbalances: May manifest as stomach problems, mental upsets relating to anger, control and insecurity.
Associated crystals: Citrine, Aventurine Quartz and Sunstone.

The Heart Chakra:

heart chakra

Associated colour: Green.
Endocrine gland: Thymus.
Location: Center of the chest, by the heart.
Function: Governs love, forgiveness, compassion and relationship issues.
Imbalances: May manifest as difficulties with giving and receiving love, fear of rejection or feelings of unworthiness.
Associated crystals: Watermelon Tourmaline, Rose Quartz and Jade.

The Throat Chakra:

throat chakra

Associated colour: Blue.
Endocrine gland: Thyroid and Parathyroid.
Location: Middle of the throat.
Function: Governs communication and metabolism.
Imbalances: May manifest as throat disorders, the need to control others or the lack of ability to express emotions.
Associated crystals: Turquoise, Lapis Lazuli and Aquamarine.

The Brow / Third Eye Chakra:

third eye chakra

Associated colour: Indigo.
Endocrine gland: Pituitary and pineal.
Location: Middle of the forehead.
Function: Governs intuition and reasoning.
Imbalances: May manifest as headaches or eye problems, nightmares and learning difficulties.
Also it can be associated with a fear of success.
Associated crystals: Amethyst, Sapphire and Calcite.

The Crown Chakra:

crown chakra

Associated colour: Violet.
Endocrine gland: Pineal.
Location: Top of the head.
Function: Governs spirituality, appreciation and understanding.
Imbalances: May manifest as feelings of isolation and despair, frustration and obsessions.
Associated crystals: Clear Quartz, Amethyst and Diamonds

What to expect during a balancing of the 7 Chakra's:

There are many different ways in which you can help to stabilise or balance the chakras.
For me personally I use reiki and crystals.
First I place a specific crystal on each of the seven major chakra points.
Then I concentrate with reiki energy on each of these points for approximately 5 minutes or until the chakra feels balanced.
This may take a shorter or longer period of time. An average treatment would take 40 to 45 minutes.